The Consortium

The South West Doctoral Training Partnership (SWDTP), which is primarily funded by the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC), was developed to improve postgraduate training, through sharing innovation and best practice across disciplinary and interdisciplinary fields.  It is also committed to building on the collaborative potential that is central to social sciences research and practice. The partnership offers funding and support to Social Science researchers. The SWDTP also facilitates partnerships between organisations and researchers. Our students have completed placements with organisations, charities and research groups large and small so get in touch if you’d like to create a partnership with our students!

Our strategic partnership began with the SWDTC under the leadership of the Universities of Bath, Bristol and Exeter and now includes the University of Plymouth and the University of the West of England (UWE Bristol), bringing together social science academic leaders across our 17 disciplinary and interdisciplinary pathways.  The Partnership benefits from the leadership and research knowledge available from all five institutions, which includes the sharing of resources, training and other opportunities.


The five institutions have a strong track record in advancing knowledge through high quality research and teaching, and in working in partnership with business, public sector and civic society organisations.


Below is a diagram of our Governance Structure: