Are you eligible for ESRC studentship funding?

** Follow the application procedures of the institution at which you wish to be based**

In order to receive ESRC studentship funding you must have qualifications/experience equal to the standard of a good honours degree at first or upper second class level from a UK academic research organisation.

Degree qualifications gained from outside the UK, or a combination of qualifications and/or experience that is equivalent to a relevant UK degree, may be accepted.

From academic year 2021/22, both home students and international students are now eligible to apply to UKRI for a full award (both stipend and fees at the Research Organisation’s UK rate). No new fees only awards will be allocated from the 2021/22 academic year.   

These changes come into effect from 01 August 2021.  Residential eligibility criteria would not change for students who commenced their studies before that date.  

The terms for application for home students and international students are somewhat different.


To be classed as a home student, candidates must meet the following criteria: 

• Be a UK National (meeting residency requirements), or 

• Have settled status or,  

• Have pre-settled status (meeting residency requirements) or,  

• Have indefinite leave to remain or enter .

 If a candidate does not meet the criteria above, they would be classed as an International student. 


Up to 30% of our studentships are now available for international students and can be offered to anyone who doesn’t fit the above criteria.

This now includes EU, other EEA and Swiss nationals. This is subject to the following stipulations:

The full award does not cover the difference between the UK rate and the international fees set by universities. It is essential to confirm with the institution what their policy is (e.g. is there a fee waiver for the difference? Are there scholarships you can apply for?
Will you need to pay it yourself?)


See about those benefitting from Citizens’ Rights under the EU Withdrawal Agreement, EEA EFTA Separation Agreement or Swiss Citizens’ Rights Agreement, and also Irish nationals living in the UK and Ireland