The South West Doctoral Training Partnership is funded by the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC), with the first cohort starting in October 2017. Our Partnership builds upon the success of the South West Doctoral Training Centre (SWDTC) which was established in 2011 by the Universities of Bath, Bristol and Exeter. We have extended our strategic partnership to include the University of Plymouth and the University of the West of England (UWE), bringing together social science academic leaders across our 17 disciplinary and interdisciplinary pathways.  The Partnership benefits from the leadership and research knowledge available from all five institutions and also from the SWDTC cohort of students, as we have over 200 ESRC funded researchers.

As well as developing tailored training programmes for our students and staff, the Partnership also supports a wide variety of collaborative activities, including events and student placements, in public, private and civic society organisations.

The SWDTP has been accredited by the Economic and Social Sciences Research Council (ESRC) and has been allocated 45 ESRC studentships annually. These studentships fund Social Science researchers at all five partner universities through their PhD research, inlcuding funding placements, fieldwork and overseas institutional visits.